powers of taxation; funds to finance services in their jurisdiction are provided by their component municipalities. On January 1, 1975, there were 1,573 municipalities comprising 68 cities, 208 towns, 266 villages, 486 parishes, 152 townships, 13 united townships and 380 municipal organizations without designation. Major municipal consolidations began in 1965 with the fusion of the 14 municipalities on Île Jésus into the new city of Laval. In 1970, the Montreal and Quebec Urban Communities and the Outaouais Regional Community were established with integration of services to be staged gradually.

Ontario. In Ontario, slightly more than 10% of the area includes 95% of the total population and is municipally organized; the remainder is under direct provincial administration. The settled section is divided into one metropolitan municipality, 10 regional municipalities, one district municipality and 27 counties. There are 39 cities, five separated towns, five boroughs, 137 towns, 121 villages, 473 townships and 13 improvement districts. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since January 1954, encompasses one city and five boroughs and is responsible for assessments, police, water supply, sewerage, metropolitan road systems, and planning. The regional municipalities of Durham, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara, Ottawa-Carleton, Peel, Sudbury, Waterloo and York have replaced county administrations and assumed certain responsibilities over all municipalities within their boundaries. The District Municipality of Muskoka was incorporated in January 1971 to assume responsibilities, similar to those of the regional municipalities, over the reorganized municipalities of the former district of Muskoka. This form of regional government is contemplated in other areas. Each county, although an incorporated municipality, comprises the towns (with the exception of six separated towns), villages and townships within it. Some municipalities are located outside the counties in areas called districts. These districts in western and northern Ontario are not municipal entities.

Manitoba has five cities, 33 towns, 40 villages and 105 rural municipalities. There are 19 local government districts each with a resident administrator to carry out the functions of a municipal council. The unorganized areas are the direct responsibility of the provincial government.

Saskatchewan has 11 cities, 131 towns, 350 villages and 292 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern part of the province, the remainder of this portion being administered by the province through 10 unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern part is sparsely populated and some municipal services are provided by the province through the operation of the Northern Administration District.

Alberta has nine cities, 103 towns, 167 villages, 18 municipal districts and 30 counties. The counties administer schools in addition to municipal services. There are 22 improvement districts and three special areas administered by the Special Areas Board.

British Columbia. In 1967, the government of British Columbia instituted regional government. By January 1972, 28 regional districts had been established. These regional districts are assuming responsibility for certain services from municipalities within their boundaries as well as providing services to previously unorganized areas. There are 32 cities, 11 towns, 58 villages and 37 districts. Districts are mostly rural although some adjacent to the principal cities of Vancouver and Victoria are largely urban in character. Unincorporated local districts have been set up to provide certain municipal services.

Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories. In the Yukon Territory, there are two cities, one town and five local improvement districts; the Northwest Territories includes one city, three towns, three hamlets and seven local improvement districts. The local improvement districts in the Yukon and the hamlets in the Northwest Territories, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government.